A Little Happy For Your Monday

Need a little happy for your Monday? I do. And for me, this sort of thing is just the ticket.

20130203_220635

Opening my cabinet door and being greeted by a little black and white damask seems to brighten my day. Don’t judge me.

The whole paper-the-back-of-my-cabinets thing started when I decided I couldn’t take my wonky doors anymore. I didn’t want to lay out the cash for replacements just yet, but those doors needed to go. So they did. And I was left with a bunch of open cabinets that just didn’t look as chic as I had imagined, but there was no going back.

My solution? Get some inexpensive wrapping paper from K-Mart (Raymond was wrong-K-Mart doesn’t suck), some thumb tacks, and go to town. The whole project cost me about $12 and an hour and a half of time. In my world that’s a pretty good payoff. This paper was a little flimsy and hard to work with, but I liked the pattern, so I stuck with it. You could use wrapping paper, wall paper, or go high-brow with fun Cavallini paper from here or high-quality gift wrap from here. Pricier than the K-Mart version, but more substantial and easier to work with. And don’t stop with the kitchen; attack any cabinet in your home that needs a little pizzaz.

Happy Monday!

P.S. Sorry about the bad photo. Next on my list? Working on my photo skillz.

3 thoughts on “A Little Happy For Your Monday

  1. Pingback: DIY: Medicine Cabinet Overhaul | Chez Moi

  2. Pingback: Our Kitchen | Chez Moi

  3. Wow! That’s such a great idea! I was just looking in my cabinets today and feeling so depressed. They aren’t exactly ugly, except they are, if you know what I mean. Yours look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

