Womanhood

20130223_110249

Last week was a big one chez moi. Blondie turned 12. My baby girl. Twelve. I can hardly believe it. This weekend we were also fortunate to get to take a little “girl road trip” to Lubbock to visit family. Just the two of us. While we were there we got to take a trip to the make-up counter. It’s a tradition in my family to do so on (or near) your twelfth birthday, so we did just that. Oh, what fun we had! I often tell her, “It’s fun to be a girl.” While that is not always true, I do want her to embrace all the lovely things about being a woman made in God’s own image.

As I heard myself repeating, yet again, “It’s fun to be a girl!” it got me thinking. Yes, sometimes it is, but what about all the other times it is not fun to be a girl. What does that mean? How am I to faithfully persevere during those times? And, truthfully, it is much easier and more “fun” to be a girl now, living where I do than it is in many other parts of the world. In fact, there are places all over the world in which being a woman is a strike against her. No freedom of expression, no value outside of her husband’s worth, no ability to allow her voice to be heard.

That’s a hard pill to swallow. I find myself complaining that I don’t have a proper laundry room, just a portion of the garage with a washer and dryer tucked in the corner. Then I begin bellyaching about how my refrigerator just isn’t cutting it anymore. And then…you see where I’m going with this.

And it’s not just about counting my blessings. Or guilting myself into feeling blessed. I want to share these struggles with my daughter in an appropriate manner. I want her to know that, no, being a girl isn’t always “fun,” but that there are deep seeded blessings that we all share as women. Do I have answers? Certainly not. Do I want to see my glass a MORE than half full? Of course. But I want to embrace those things and go beyond that. How can I/we help other women find the same joy? Find strength? Here in our own back yard and those on the other side of the world. I have a few ideas rolling around in my head, but they are far to muddled to bang them out on a keyboard tonight.

What is your take? What comes to mind when you think about the blessings of being a woman? How have/will you share them with the young women in your life?

One thought on “Womanhood

  1. It is fun to be a girl! My girls and I have had opportunities to talk about the Taliban, International Justice, be involved in Fair Trade acquisitions, go on mission trips, etc. What a blessing it is to be able to contrast the way women are treated in other cultures and in many homes in America with the way Jesus treated women in the Bible. Brianna (who will be 17 Monday) and I were able to be part of a presentation in Ghana, West Africa about Jesus’ relationship with women. Christian women came from nearby villages, some walked for many miles. While Ghana is a largely Christian nation, one of the largest issues they have is STDs. This is largely due to male sexual promiscuousness, what we were informed is their largest moral issue. I was also involved in a teen girl Bible study of Esther. Loved that study for our young women! Some great years are ahead for you and Chloe!

    Now off to channel my inner Cyndi Lauper.

Leave a Reply

