Mani Love

No, this has nothing to do with anyone named Manny. And actually this is my confession that I really don’t like getting manicures. Or pedicures. I know that I am at risk of having my girl card revoked, but it’s the truth. I mean, I love how my nails look after I’ve had them done. Much better than I am able to do with a bottle and brush. It’s just that I don’t like paying for them. Especially when I get a chip exactly 5 hours after leaving the salon. Oh, the humanity.

But more than the cost, I just don’t have the time to sit for what feels like hours watching paint dry. Literally. Ok, so maybe it’s not hours, and maybe I don’t make the time to go to the salon, but I do sit there the whole time thinking of all the things I could and need to be doing. Maybe manis and pedis are actually some sort of spiritual discipline to learn to calm the mind. Well, either way I’ve found a way around it.

I’ve tried the at-home shellac thing, and while it looked great after I got the hang of it, I found myself with my hands in little bowls of acetone for what seemed like hours watching the paint un-dry. Not my thing. And I’m not sure it did my nails any good. Then I tried the nail “stickers” you can buy across the aisle from the toilet bowl cleaner and paper plates, but they did’t really work for me, either.

So what is a girl to do? Wander through life with bare nails? Heavens, no. Meet my good friend, Incoco. Ok, Incoco isn’t a real person, nor do they have any idea who I am, but I’m pretty sure I’m their #1 fan! It is actual nail polish, but goes on like a sticker. Kooky, I know, but they do a way better job of describing it and explaining how to apply it than I can. Suffice it to say that it goes on pretty easily (after just a little practice) and comes off easily. Like, with regular polish remover and cotton. No soaking. Not only that, it looks like I had them done. Better yet, it lasts way longer than traditional polish. Take a look below. Those are my nails after a week and a half of regular teacher, mommy, crafty girl life. No kid-glove treatment.

fimernails

After 1.5 weeks. Rough cuticles not included.

This color is called Casting Call, but they offer loads of colors from the funky to the mundane. They even have french manicure sets that look like the real McCoy. Who is Mc Coy, anyway, and why are they so real?

Do you have any salon substitutions that simplify your life? Come on, spill it. Inquiring minds want to know!

2 thoughts on “Mani Love

  1. i can’t wait for my Incoco stickers to get here. I was impressed that shipping was so cheap, like $1.69 for one set or something.
    My other salon sub is dry shampoo. I like Shampowder!

Leave a Reply

