More NYC

It has been a busy couple of weeks. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ve still not unpacked from Blissdom AND I’ve still not shared some really fun bits of my time in New York. I’ll try to keep it brief, but there’s just so much I want to show you!

First up, Mood Fabrics in the Garment District. It’s located at 225 W 37th, but you have to look UP to see it. Enter at 225 on the ground floor and take the elevator to the 3rd floor. Once you are there they will want to check any bags (shopping, not purses) you may have. That is a good thing, people. It leaves your hands free to love, touch, feel, and covet all of the gorgeous fabrics. There is a LOT of apparel fabric, but go downstairs and you’ll see oodles and oodles of home dec fabric and trim. I tried to take photos, but got the stink-eye, so this is all I have for you.

mood1This is a mere FRACTION of what they have. Still recovering. Mercy!

After Mood I needed to fuel up, so I stopped at The Piccolo Cafe at 247 W 40th for no other reason than it looked really cute inside. A quaint little (and I do mean little) place with delicious coffee and panini.

piccoloJust a quick shot of the interior. I love the window-turned-shelf. Fun and delicious.

After a bite to eat I went to The Morgan Library at Madison and 37th. Yes, I went to a library on vacation. Don’t judge (I wish you could have seen my students’ faces when I told them). The Morgan houses a lot of surrealist art, which isn’t really my thing, but there is a spectacular Degas exihbit that chronicles his fascination with Miss LaLa, a circus performer in Paris (who knew-I only knew about his whole ballet dancer thing). Downstairs houses Morgan’s collection of manuscripts of all descriptions, including original scores from Verdi, Beethoven, and Mozart. Unbelievable. Perhaps the biggest reason I enjoyed The Morgan so much was the staff. I’ve never felt so welcome in a museum in my life. And after being glared and glowered at by museum staff from hither and yon, it was a breath of fresh air I didn’t know I needed. Kudos, Morgan Library. You made this Museum Studies girl very happy.

The following day my buddy Lisa and I decided to venture all the way down to SoHo. We now call ourselves the SoHos (rimshot). Our new friend Dabney suggested that while we were down there we check out Atelier Cologne at 247 Elizabeth Street. Warning: it isn’t cheap, but oh, it is so lovely. And the bottles are huge, so this will last me a good long time. Our friend Ross took really good care of us and even personalized leather bottle covers for us and shipped them right to my doorstep. PS Remember when I stalked Lisa Leonard and then she said that I smelled good? Thank you, Atelier (that is French for “workshop,” y’all).

After wandering SoHo we made our way over to Madewell on Broadway where I bought these babies: source

madewell

Next we made our way over to the West Village to meet up with the rest of our party. I was told we were going to a Scottish gastro-pub and thought, “Mmmm, haggis. Fantastic.” I shouldn’t have spoken so soon. Highlands was an absolute delight. The food was delicious and the decor…oh, the decor. One of the waiters noticed me drooling over the palampore-style wallpaper and kindly took me on a little tour of the whole place, telling me about the art on the walls, furnishings, and of course, the spectacular wallpaper, all of which was printed and sent from Scotland. Oh, the brick walls. The leather tufted banquettes. The rustic oak furnishings. I tried to take a few pictures, but none of them did the place justice. Please, PLEASE check out their website (go to their gallery) and drink in the fabulousness. You’ll thank me later.

I do hope that if you find yourself in NYC you’ll get to visit some spectacular places. I also hope that you’ll share them here so that we all can enjoy places that we may not otherwise know about. Until next time, New York!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “More NYC

  1. Pingback: More Window Seat Love: Second Floor | Chez Moi

  2. Oh my gosh! I’m wanting to go see New York City one day soon, and I’m looking for upholstery fabric. I’ll definitely have to check out Mood Fabrics.

Leave a Reply

