Coaxing Spring

Don’t look now, people, but I think Spring is just about here. I’ve been trying to do my part to coax her along. How? I bought a plant. Yes. I did. And it is still alive. Check this out.

coaxspring2

And if you look really closely you can see new growth.

coaxspring1Did you hear that? Still alive and new growth. I have to say, I’ve not always been botanically challenged. There was a time in college I had two plants. One, Francesca, spoke only Italian and the other , Francois, spoke only French (yeah, I know I’m a bona fide nut job) so I chattered away to them, loved them, and they were very happy. I’m not sure what has happened, but since then I’ve had a really hard time keeping anything alive. I suppose if I had to choose, keeping my kids alive trumped a couple of ex-pat plants. Anyway, I decided to give it one more try and so far, so good. And I’m pretty sure my little green buddy is solely responsible for righting Punxsutawney Phil’s gigantic gaff.

My new-found success made me wonder if I was ready to move on to bigger and better things. Then I decided not to tempt fate by planting an oak in the front yard or something. But what would help usher in Spring like my little ivy? Herbs! Yes, herbs would do the trick. I could coax the warmth to our region, prove myself an actual horticulturist, and use fresh herbs to whip up amazing culinary delights for my family! Don’t burst my bubble, people. A girl can dream.

I decided I wanted to use little glass jars for my indoor herb garden.

IMG_3667

One small problem. They don’t have holes in the bottom for drainage. How about a little gravel?

IMG_3669

Then in went my little friends. It took a bit of coaxing, but once they were all tucked in, they seemed to be pretty happy.

IMG_3673My home doesn’t have an abundance of sunlight, so I put them in the sunniest spot I could find…my dining room.

IMG_3674I think Rufus approves. Plus he just likes a good, sunny spot.

IMG_3671Check back with me in a few weeks to see if everyone is still alive. My only problem now is that no one has names. And you can’t talk to a nameless plant. Help a girl out. Any and all names will be considered. Well, most of them. GO!

5 thoughts on “Coaxing Spring

  1. Pingback: Our Living Room | Chez Moi

Leave a Reply

