So what do you do now?

So, now you have a place to stay at the Gruene Mansion Inn, but what is there to do once you get there? Well, you could start at the oldest dance hall in Texas, Gruene Hall. PS I should have mentioned in my first post that it’s pronounced “Green” y’all. What kind of language teacher am I? Yeesh!

gruenehallsource

Gruene Hall is a great place to go listen to live music, scoot a boot, shot some pool, or  just hang out with your friends. During the day it is kid-friendly, so bring the littles. We got to see Lyle Lovett there a few months ago. You jelly? Check their schedule to see who just might be playing during your visit.

Steps from The Mansion there is all kinds of great food. We typically like to lunch at this spot: Gruene River Grill.

gruenerivergrill

Hello, people I don't know, but check out that interior. Fabulous!

Hello, people I don’t know, but check out that interior. Fabulous!

source

Everything I’ve had there is delicious, but I’m partial to the fish tacos, the oriental salad, and the Chicken Guadeloupe (for the record, it’s pronounced gwah-duh-loop in these parts), but not all at the same time. Beautiful space and excellent food.

We’ve also been known to eat here multiple times during our stay:

I actually took this picture all by myself. Yay me.

I actually took this picture all by myself. Yay me.

grismill2

gristmill3

source

Oh, Gristmill, how I love thee! My first visit to this restaurant was just before my senior year of high school after a week at student council camp (yes, it exists-my nerd is showing) and I had no idea until years later what a treat it truly was. This place can seat up to 1,000 people at a time. I know, right? You’d think that would mean quality and service might be compromised, but in the….um, I’ve lost count…times I’ve been here, it has always been top-notch. Without fail I order the Ahi Tuna Steak (cue the gasp) rare. And by rare I mean whiffed by the open flame. I know, I know. This is beefland, but I can’t pass up the chance at a great hunk of rare tuna. And it is. So are the loaded mashed potatoes. Have mercy. No, really, you will have to ask for mercy after eating them. Ridiculously delicious. If you must blaze your own trail and order a steak, then be prepared for your eyes to roll back in your head. And don’t forget the strawberry shortcake. Makes you want to slap your mama. But don’t. You’ll get in trouble for that.

There is also lots of fun shopping right there. And when I say right there, I mean you can park your car and leave it all weekend. All these great places are just steps from each other.

If you do decide to venture into the big city (New Braunfels) there are treats awaiting you there, too. First, the Huisache Grill. Unbelievably delicious crawfish and shrimp chowder. And Crusty Sesame Trout. And ridiculous steaks…and…and…

And lest you think all I do is eat, there is this fun little spot we discovered while waiting for our table.

download (1)

Nash Brothers is a great little shop tucked into the courtyard behind the restaurant. I found several treasures there I’ll show you later. For now, feast your eyes on the cuteness.

Velvet ribbon galore.

Velvet ribbon galore.

No shortage of fun lighting.

No shortage of fun lighting.

And lots of cute wearable stuff, too. But not my friend Lisa. She's not wearable. Or flappable.

And lots of cute wearable stuff, too. But not my friend Lisa. She’s not wearable. Or flappable.

Suffice it to say there is no shortage of good food, fun shops, and live music in Gruene, Texas. I hope you’ll visit soon, y’all. It’s fantastic. Trust me.

On a more somber note, I can’t let the day pass without adding my sincere condolences to all that were involved in the senseless violence in Boston. My heart and prayers go out to all. May Your kingdom come. Soon.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

