Alabaster Lamp Love

Smooth, light, luminous, shapely…what’s not to love about the alabaster lamp. And they seem to be very much at home in a variety of milieu. Here are just a few that I’ve been eyeing lately.

alabaster1

 

source

Simply gorgeous with all the lovely veining. I can see these lovelies in so many settings.

alabaster2

source

And this one with a more modern edge. It reminds me of the incomplete Michelangelo sculptures I saw long ago at the Galleria dellAccademia with soft, smooth limbs emerging from a rough hunk of marble. Stunning.

alabaster3

source

And this vignette by Nate Berkus in a serene neutral arrangement. Lovely.

alabaster6

source

While perfect in a light, neutral room, they are equally at home in a dark, moodier setting. The contrast shows off their lovely curves.

alabaster4

source

Soft. Luminous. Simple. Just right.

alabaster5

source

Stacks and stacks of white with a little alabaster tucked in for good measure? Makes me weak in the knees.

IMG_3674And finally, these beauties. The best part about these is that they were a wedding gift to my grandparents and now, after I did a little rewiring, they have a special home in my dining room. I can’t pass by them without smiling.

Do you have a little alabaster in your life?

Leave a Reply

