Details, Details

About a month ago my new cyber-friend Sherri at August Blues Slipcover Studio posted some photos of a few of the slipcovers she’s created. I can use a sewing machine, but as the founder and president of Hack-n-Sewers Anonymous I only wish I had the patience to include the dressmaker details that she has.

slipcover3Let’s start with the piping. Perfection! And the grosgrain ribbon is a nod to feminine without being over the top.

slipcover2

 

Want a more tailored look? Covered buttons are just the ticket!

slipcover1Ahhhhh. Just look at this knife-pleat goodness. Be still my heart!

slipcover5I remember a Laura Ashley jumper I wore in the 8os that had a hem just like this. Note: this detail is perfection on a darling chair like this one. Not so much on a 17 year old young woman.

slipcover4

 

And finally this little corseted number that would make any Masterpiece Classic costume drama green with envy.

I’ve been dreaming of these slipcovers and their gorgeous dressmaker details since she posted them and I’m so glad to get to share them with you, too. Thank you, Sherri! Beautifully done!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Details, Details

Leave a Reply

