Musée D’Orsay, Paris

There is so much I want to tell you about my trip to Paris. We didn’t visit the Musée D’Orsay until day 5, but it is one of my favorite places and couldn’t wait to show you a couple of pictures they kindly let me take.

dorsay6

The museum was once a train station with lovely glass ceilings and large clocks to keep travelers on time. A couple of the clocks are made of glass and allow for fantastic views of Paris. This is one of my favorites. If you look closely, you can see Sacre Coeur off in the distance. Breathtaking.

dorsay4While there you can visit the elegant restaurant on the first floor. It was built as a part of the Hotel D’Orsay in 1900. Oh, to have lunch in such lovely surroundings!

dorsay2

dorsay3As much as I would have liked to dine at the restaurant, my missing luggage situation had me dressed for a more casual affair. Thank goodness they offer that, too. Check out the Café Campana, designed by the Brazilian brothers Campana. Charming and relaxed, its menu offers classic Parisian brasserie fare. And another lovely view of one of the massive clocks.

dorsay5I have a “usual” path that I follow through the museum, starting on the 6th floor and working my way down to the sculptures in the middle of the ground floor. This time I started with the vast furniture collection then wandered my way over to the 5th floor and was stopped in my tracks. I walked through a smallish room that had a wall-sized photo of someone’s home with the words “Nashville, Tennessee” above. It was an exquisite living room filled with paintings, sculpture, and elegant furniture. In the next room there was another wall-sized photograph, this time from New York. More lovely works of art were displayed in ever corner of the large room. After chatting with a nearby attendant, he explained that the museum had the majority of the Hays’ collection (from their homes in New York and Nashville) on display for three months only. He handed me a guide with small versions of the photos that covered the walls. I wandered through gallery after gallery, looking at the works on display, then at the photos to see where it sat at their “homes” in New York and Nashville. I could have spent hours in that one exhibit alone. Lucky me that I was able to enjoy it during its short visit.

When visiting museums, do you have a “system” for winding your way through?

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Musée D’Orsay, Paris

  1. I LOVE the Musee d’Orsay! These photos are amazing. (I didn’t even know they had a restaurant.) Makes me want to go back.

Leave a Reply

