No More Pencils, No More Books

This morning Dr. Kyle, my Dude, and Blondie will all find themselves at a desk, ready to start their school day. I, however, for the first time in many years, will not. I have mixed feelings about it. I wondered who will give my students a smile during they day? Who will greet them with a jaunty “bonjour” as they pass in the hallway, almost always eliciting a half hearted, “Uh, hey,” and a smile? Who will give them extra little tidbits of trivia, assuring them those little nuggets of wisdom are “for free?”

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been ridiculously relaxed this past week, especially last night. Not one iota of “the Sunday night blues.” But in the midst of my relaxation, I realized this. Actually, I rerealized this. I was not the only one to try to make a difference in their day, whether a smile or the all too necessary “you can do better than this.” Not by a long shot. Our schools are filled to the brim with people who choose to walk into that classroom each day. To encourage our children. To do their best to guide each student to their best self and I’m so proud to have been a small part.

I’d like to say something noble like, “And now it is time for me to pass the baton for a while,” but here’s the thing. I don’t need to pass any baton. I have colleagues near and far that care deeply for and nurture our kids. And I’ll tell you, it’s not for the paycheck. So, if you are one of the few, the proud, thank you. For those of you dropping your kids off today, find a moment to speak blessing over your child’s school. It is a place of wonder for so many reasons, and I will miss being there. Then I will enjoy a nice looooong cup of coffee in complete silence and smile as I happily move on to the next chapter.

7 thoughts on “No More Pencils, No More Books

Leave a Reply

