DIY: Nifty Hidden Phone Charger

Check out the nifty little phone charger I put together this morning.

IMG_4024

 

You can’t see it? Well, that’s because I hid it. I hate having an ugly white charger on my bedside table, so I took matters into my own hands. If you are a bibliophile, you may want to look away. A couple of unsuspecting books lying around our house gave up their lives for this little project. In addition to the books, here’s what I used:

IMG_4012A couple of old books, painter’s tape, a drill (I forgot to change it from a screwdriver to a drill bit before snapping this photo-oops!), a tube of two-part epoxy, a pencil, and a utility knife.

Start by figuring out where you want the charger to “poke out” from the top of the book, lay down a strip of tape to protect the cover, and mark it with your pencil.

IMG_4014Measure the depth of the charger and mark your drill bit with a piece of tape so you don’t accidentally drill all the way through the book. This is a terrible shot, but wanted to give you a visual. Now drill down into the book where you’ve marked the spot for the charger to poke through. It may take a while, but you’ll get there. You may have to use the utility knife to scrape out some of the book innards as you work to hollow out the space.

IMG_4015Next, open the book and cut out a trench for the wire. You’ll need to use the utility knife for this part.

IMG_4018With the book open (like in the photo above) mix up your epoxy and dollop it liberally into the hole where the charger will be (no need to put any in the trench for the wire). Insert the charger into the epoxyed hole, then close the book and squish it down so a bit of the adhesive squishes out the top.

IMG_4021Here’s what it will look like once everything is glued into place. Once the epoxy has set you can remove the tape. I decided the hole wasn’t as clean as I would have liked, so I decided to “hide” it with another book. I drilled a hole the same size as the charger into the underside of the second book so it could lay flat on top. Then I scored a line down the middle of the back cover and snapped it so it would bend. After that, I used hot glue to adhere it (but only applied glue to the back most part of the second book cover) so that it could be moved out of the way to charge my phone. The photo below will help you visual-learner types.

IMG_4025When I’m through charging my phone, I lower the top book and BAM! Hidden charger.

IMG_4024Getting one more wire out of my sight does wonders for my soul. Sometimes it’s the little things, people. Happy charging!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “DIY: Nifty Hidden Phone Charger

Leave a Reply

