Postcards, but Not From the Edge

Not long ago I ran into a friend I hadn’t seen in a while. We were at a local restaurant and had a nice little chat in line as we waited to order our food. Let me clarify. I sent my two up to the counter to order for themselves while she effortlessly balanced her tiny on on her hip, ordered for her entire family (three kids under the age of five, people!), and carried on a coherent conversation, all after putting in a full day at the office. Then it hit me. I was that mommy just a few minutes ago. But with only two kids, not three. I met my match at two. Where had the time gone? It took all I had not to bust into Sunrise, Sunset right then and there.

Anyway, she proceeded to tell me that she had a stack of vintage French postcards that she’d bought at the Rose Bow Flea Market years ago, and that she would drop them by my house sometime if I wanted them. Um, yes, please!

The next day (did you hear that, people, the very next day) I found this sweet bundle in my mailbox.

photo (3)I’m still trying to process that A) she was just as bubbly and delightful at the end of the day as she managed ordering for her entire family B) she could carry on a coherent and delightful conversation after a full day, and C) that she could put her hands on that very stack of postcards and have them at my doorstep the very next day. Truly amazing. And take a look at the beautiful cards!

photo (4)Several of them are from some of my favorite chateaux in the Loire valley. I still remember a fantastic day at Blois (the one on top) with Dr. Kyle, his twin brother, and my sweet sister-in-law (fun fact: her name is Camille, too. Crazy, no?)

I’ve been trying to figure out what I want to do with them. I don’t want to cut, glue, or alter them in any way (my Museum Studies background won’t let me), so I decided to sprinkle them in a little Thanksgiving vignette in the living room. I love all things fall, I love France, and I love little unexpected pleasures that seem to find me from time to time, so it seemed like a perfect fit.

postcardsSo merci mille fois,  Amanda. I love the cards. I loved chatting with you for a brief moment. Most of all, I loved seeing you with your littles, reminding me how quickly time flies. Merci.

 

 

 

One thought on “Postcards, but Not From the Edge

Leave a Reply

