Office Design: Glass Dry Erase Board

I was recently working on a client’s office, and as we talked about how the space would function he told me that he wanted a dry erase board all along one wall. Like a giant one. His office was really starting to come together and I just couldn’t imagine a vast expanse of whiteness overtaking the room, but I did want to make sure that the space met his needs. I mean, who doesn’t like a good spot to jot down to-do lists and what-have-you? Then I thought about the glass board from here in my own studio space. Not fancy, but not obtrusive, either.

ImageGlass is actually a fantastic surface for dry-erase markers. In fact, it worked far better than the actual whiteboard I had in my classroom. Easy to write on and really easy to erase.

It got me thinking, what if we used glass for this application, as well? I went to my local glass store and ordered up a 6′ x 4′ piece of quarter inch glass with a satin finish on one side (mounted smooth side out), had them drill holes and order the mounting hardware, and voila! A ginormous, unobtrusive whiteboard.

Image

special hardware

This isn’t actually my client’s office. I didn’t want to photograph all his trade secrets and post them here for all to see (by the way, have you seen the movie The Spanish Prisoner? No? Run, don’t walk. Posting trade secrets doesn’t go well. And who knew David Mamet could make a film that’s rated PG).

Knowing that glass is a fantastic whiteboard substitute, the applications are endless. In fact, a large picture frame + decorative wrapping paper or fabric = your custom dry erase board.

Image

source

Have an antique window? Also fabulous. The applications are limitless. Do you have one in your space? Do tell!

6 thoughts on “Office Design: Glass Dry Erase Board

  1. I’ve been using the mirrors in the bathrooms as dry erase boards for years. I love leaving notes, or “to do” lists for my kids where I know they will see them!

  2. I wonder if you could somehow also make this magnetic. I have a large frame in my office I use as a pin board, but it would be nice to use as a white board as well and I wonder if I could combine the two?

    • I think you’re on to something, Alyssa. I’ve not tried it, but I wonder if you could paint the back of the glass with several coats of magnet paint. I’d imagine it would take a few for the magnetic pull to transfer through the glass, but sounds like it just might work. You’re a smart one, my dear!

Leave a Reply

