More Round Top Fun: Leftovers Antiques and Zapp Hall

One of my favorites stops during Round Top was a fantastic place called Leftovers Antiques in Brenham. There is a little bit of everything there. Lovely antique furnishings and accessories, beautiful bedding and rugs, clothing, you name it. And lovely collections of all sorts of things.

IMG_0207

IMG_0209

Each year owners Ed and Michael host Jazz night at Leftovers. This year Rachel Ashwell (creator of shabby chic, one of the best things to happen to our household full of rambunctious people) was there to sign copies of her new book, Couture Prairie. Holly and I had visited her at her B & B a few days before, so we enjoyed having a bit more time to chat.

1980-01-01 00.03.38

I also met and had a nice chat with clothing and textile designer Tina Givens. What a treat!

1980-01-01 00.00.14-1

Best of all, I made new friends and got to have fun with Holly. What a great way to finish out my first trip to Round Top.

IMG_0206I wish I could have stayed another couple of days, but was missing my people, so I packed up and headed home the next morning. And though I was sad to leave, I got to hug this girl’s neck as I stopped at Zapp Hall in Warrenton on my way home.

IMG_0223Meet my sweet niece, Annalee. She and her husband’s family own Zapp Hall and run Royer’s Cafe at Zapp Hall during the fall and spring antique shows. She made sure I didn’t leave hungry, people. And oh, my, was everything delicious. I stopped just short of putting my face into the giant containers of potato salad and garlic pasta salad. You must stop there for a bite this spring. For the food and for a chance to be with a fantastic family. Thank you for your incredible hospitality, McCords. I can’t wait to come back!

Leave a Reply

