Keepin’ It Real: A Peek Downstairs

We finally have all of our things moved out of our old house. We have unloaded numerous boxes, but they just keep appearing. I’m ready to roll up my sleeves and dig in, but wanted to give you a little peek at the downstairs, boxes and all. Truth be told, I am terrible at taking before shots, so while you get a peek, I’m keeping a record of what it looked like at the very beginning. Let’s take a stroll through the ground floor, shall we?

photo (75)After you enter the front door, if you look to your left you can see the staircase. Just through the french doors is the living room.

photo (78)Welcome to the living room. We have already put the fireplace to good use several times. Perfect for cold and windy nights! The sconces and chandelier are original to the home. Rufus approves.

From here if you look directly behind you…

photo (79)…you can see into the music room. Under all the chaos there are nice built-ins and a window seat. And a piano. I think.

From the front entry, if you look to your right, you’ll see the dining room.

photo (76)One day I hope to actually dine in there without boxes everywhere. Continuing down the entry, you see the hall that leads to the kitchen and breakfast room.

photo (80)Hello, empty boxes! Next is the breakfast room/kitchen.

photo (82)

photo (81)

photo (83)The previous owner’s father was a master carpenter, and there is evidence of his handywork all over this home, including the kitchen cabinets. And the countertops? Soapstone. Just lovely, even littered with dishes.

And back down the hall looking at the entry as you leave the front door. I’m a sucker for the original sconces.

photo (77)

Again, my apologies for the clutter, but wanted to give you just a peek. Now to roll up my sleeves and get to work! Soon we’ll have another “Keepin’ it Real” tour of the upper two floors. Until then, happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “Keepin’ It Real: A Peek Downstairs

  1. Love this! Kind of surreal to see all your stuff in a house I already knew. I can’t wait to see the “in progress” and “after” photos!

  2. This brings back such sweet memories of playing at this lovely house when I was really young. LOVE that is yours now- a precious house for precious people, through and through. Bonus: I took some of my senior pictures in your now front yard! Love that! Blessings over your new house, you, and your sanity 😉 I can’t wait to see the finished product!!

Leave a Reply

